Pageland Council

The Pageland Town Council celebrated its local Teachers of the Year on May 3. Mayor Jason Evans, far right, presented each teacher in attendance an award on behalf of the Council. Pictured, from left, are Temest Harris, Pageland Elementary principal Ellen Middleton; Dr. Shanika Harrington-David, principal of Petersburg Primary, and Haley Short; Charles Brown, Central High. Back row, from left, are Council members Calvin Hancock, district 6; Jessie M. Kimrey, district 5; Kim S. Mangum, district 4; Shane Hancock, district 3; Harold Hutto, district 1 and Mayor Pro Tem; Jimmie Baker, district 2.

PAGELAND — The Pageland Town Council honored its local Teachers of the Year for 2022-23 during its regular monthly meeting on Tuesday, May 3.

On behalf of the Council, Mayor Jason Evans presented awards to the following teachers: Temest Harris, Pageland Elementary; Haley Short, Petersburg Primary; Charles Brown, Central High. Marc Goldberg of New Heights Middle was not present at the meeting.

Pageland Elementary principal, Ellen Middleton, and Dr. Shanika Harrington-David, principal at Petersburg Primary, both praised their teacher’s quality of work with their students during the presentation. Central High principal Damon Barnhill and New Heights principal Dr. Jason McGuire were not present during the meeting.

Mayor Pro Tem, Harold Hutto, a retired administrator for the Chesterfield County School District, made remarks as well. Hutto said he knew from experience that teaching can be challenging at times. However, he encouraged the teachers to continue doing what they do.

Harris is also a finalist for Chesterfield County District Teacher of the Year. The winner will be announced at the 2022 Teacher of the Year Banquet on Thursday, May 12.

Trending Videos