I am writing you on behalf of the board of directors of Catawba Mental Health Center, one of 16 such centers in South Carolina, which provides mental health services in Chester, Lancaster and York counties to approximately 3,000 clients.

Senate Bill S.399 proposes merging the S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control’s (DHEC) public health sector with the S.C. Department of Mental Health (SCDMH) and the S.C. Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (SCDAODAS) to create the Department of Behavioral Health and Public Health.

Melanie O. Saxon is vice chair of the Catawba Mental Health Center Board. Other board members include Chair Georgette Fuhr, Cherie T. Barton, Sandra Calhoun-White, Dr. Troy Fitzpatrick, Pamela Giardiello, John H. Gregory III, Marija Mack, Victoria Nolph and Bennie Thompson.

Trending Videos